Superdrug Haul & Exciting Devlopments

Hello my lovelies! If you’ve been keeping up with me on Twitter, you’ll know I’ve had a haul post planned this week from Superdrug. Since it’s the festive season I’ve decided to treat myself to a few things from brands including Sleek, MUA, and Makeup Revolution. After they arrived I made sure to try them all out so I’ll also be reviewing them quickly for you too.

Also, I’ve been planning a small blog makeover which will happen on the 23rd December (Friday) in time for the new year! This means a new header, new sidebar images and loads of free downloadable & printable resources for you guys! I can’t wait for it all to fall into place so make sure you’re around on Friday evening to see the new layout!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

This is a quick glance at the entirety of my mini haul. I’ll be going through each product one by one and talking through both the good and the bad points of each.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

We’ll start with the Cream Contour Kit from Sleek. They have three shade options for these palettes with are Light, Medium, and Dark. I chose the Light palette as I have quite pale skin. I swatched all six shades on the back of my arm to give some idea of their ‘true’ colours.

When it comes to drugstore makeup, Sleek is definitely one of my all time favourites. I found that this palette blended really well, with a dry or damp beauty blender. Something I found particularly helpful was a leaflet inside the product which mapped out where on the face each shade is to be applied- a really easy to follow guide for someone (like me) who doesn’t know a whole lot about contouring in general.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

 

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Moving on now to the Sleek Cream to Powder Foundation. I looked online, but up to date swatches of this product were really difficult to find so I didn’t get a great idea of what it really looked like. I decided to go with the shade Latte as it looked pale in swatches and on Youtube videos but have obviously been proven wrong with this one!

Despite the shade being the wrong one, I knew that I could take it on holiday with me next April when I go to Egypt. However, I didn’t find that this product blended easily; I really had to work with it in order to get a smooth finish.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

This is the second face product I purchased, the Sleek CC Cream. I ordered the shade Fair as it looked to be one of the lightest shades when I was researching swatches.

The CC Cream applies really smoothly and evenly all over the face. The claims that it boosts radiance is absolutely true, and the same goes for the mattifying shine. An amazing product all round, and this shade matches my skin tone really well!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Here’s a quick shade comparison swatch of the cream to powder foundation and the CC cream. As you can see, the CC Cream swatched really well and smoothly, whereas the cream to powder had some patchiness to it.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I recently ran out of my NYX translucent setting powder, and decided to try and find a more affordable alternative. The NYX powder isn’t expensive at all at £5, but I was intrigued to give this a try.

This gave me the exact same smooth finish of a matte powder, similar to that of the NYX translucent powder, however this has a light foundation colour to it which provides more of a subtle glow.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

A face primer is one of those makeup essentials I can never bring myself to buy again when it runs out, I’m not sure why it just seems to slip my mind! I will say that this primer works really nicely, but has a strange texture to it – though this doesn’t change how the product performs overall.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Makeup Revolution is amazing when it comes to eye products, and this eyeliner is no exception! This double edged liner is around £2/3, with one thick and one thin tip which allows you to design your eyeliner look exactly how you want it. I use the thin brush tip for a cat eye wing and then the thick brush tip to line the rest of my eye.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I still can’t quite say exactly how I feel about the Makeup Revolution Aqua Seal eye primer. I’m not entirely sure what I was expecting, but the texture is literally like water. On the box it says that you can apply it either before or after applying your eye makeup although I personally won’t be attempting to put it over my eye makeup as it’s far too watery and will no doubt smudge it everywhere.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Since I spent a certain amount of money on Sleek products (I’m not entirely sure how much exactly) I received this handy makeup bag free of charge! This is certainly useful for me as I’ve been looking around for a nice new bag to store my cosmetics in.

 Let me know in the comments if you’ve ever tried any of these products yourself, I’d love to know what your thoughts are.

I know it’s been a bit of a long one today but I’m incredibly grateful to everyone to takes the time out of their day to read my blog posts. This has been my first ever Blogmas and I’ve had an amazing time creating blog content and engaging with other bloggers this past month. I can’t wait to see what 2017 has in store!

With love,

signature

Leave a Reply

