The Everyday Lipstick Edit

Over the years I’ve had a *small* obsession with lipsticks which has left me with a rapidly growing collection. Of course, I do sometimes look at how many IProcessed with VSCO with e1 preset‘ve collected over the years and feel a pang of guilt as I remember all the money I could’ve saved… But hey, life’s too short, right? You’ve got to enjoy the little things, be it a cup of coffee on a morning or a new shiny lipstick.

I’m the kind of girl who finds a lip colour she absolutely loves, and buys about 17 different variations of that one shade. “Oh but this one has slightly more purple undertones!” If that sounds anything like you, we’d probably get on.

Lately, I’ve been trying to downsize my collection to something a little more manageable -I’ve switched my large makeup case to a respectably sized makeup bag and anything I don’t use has been thrown away. Yes, 2017 really has been the year of letting go.

This year I changed up my appearance entirely. Previously I had been a huge fan of darker colours paired with a bold red lip, but I’ve toned it down slightly to softer neutral colours with a natural pink lip. Why? I’m terrible at wearing lipstick! As much as I love it, I have awful habits such as biting my lips when I get nervous or bored, and it chips away at the lipstick leaving it on my teeth (not a good look). Therefore, if I wear a light pink, you can’t notice it so much.

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

My two go-to shades are L’Oreal Colour Riche Matte lipstick in the shade ‘Moka Chic’ and Makeup Revolution Iconic Matte Nude lipstick in the shade ‘Lust’.

Without a doubt, I always have my L’Oreal in my bag when I go anywhere. At £6.99 this is actually one of the more expensive lip products I’ve bought for myself. Any of the pricier items in my bag (i.e. my Kylie lip kits) were purchased by my parents as a gift, I usually buy within the £3 range either from MUA or Makeup Revolution simply because I don’t think there’s much difference when it comes to traditional lipsticks.

Lust from Makeup Revolution is usually something I’ll take with me on a night out as it’s quite a bit brighter. Although I have worn it to work on a couple occasions. This was £3 (within my usual price range) and I do love the formula. I did also buy another shade of this called ‘You’re a Star’ however I find the colour doesn’t go well with my skin tone, so I don’t actually use it too much.

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

Here’s a swatch of the two side by side; L’Oreal on top and Makeup Revolution below. As you can see, Lust is a little more vibrant than Moka Chic, and in person has more of a peachy undertone so I think it’ll be perfect come Summer.

Honestly, I’ll probably be investing in a few more L’Oreal lip colours as I’ve been getting on with this one really well and am intrigued to see if other shades are as good as this one.

What’s your go-to lip colour for everyday purposes? Are you a soft pink girl or more of a bold red? Let me know in the comments below or on social media! I’ve been using my Snapchat a lot more recently and would love to hear from you there, my username is @blkcoffeebrkfst!

 

4 thoughts on “The Everyday Lipstick Edit

Leave a Reply

