10 of the Best Sites for Free Stock Photos

Stock photos are the best when it comes to blogging. Although it’s not as easy as going on Google Images anymore. Different people and companies own certain content, so without knowing it you could be breaking various regulations or even laws.dublin-trublin.jpg

Every Saturday at 1pm I upload a ‘resource’ post (just like this one) with various tips & tricks to help you improve your blog on a low budget. But I don’t always have the time during a busy work week to style pictures ready for every weekend, so I use free stock photos. Why? They’re free to use and instantly make any blog look more professional.

There are so many different sites offering free stock images now that it isn’t hard to find your favourites. I always make a note of my go-to sites so that I’m never stuck for a good image.

1. Gratisography 

2. Pixabay

3. Death to the Stock Photo

4. Pexels

5. Stocksnap

6. Fancy Crave

7. Pic Jumbo

8. Snapwire Snaps

9. Splitshire

10. Picography

jeans

Out of the full list of ten, I’d definitely say that I visit Gratisography and Death to the Stock Photo the most – they’ve become firm favourites of mine!

Don’t risk landing yourself in any trouble for copyright violation and just pay these sites a quick visit; you’re spoilt for choice, really. The images are of a professional quality and you can even search keywords to find the perfect picture for you.

Some people choose not to use stock photos at all, the choice is entirely yours to make. My advice is that if you work full time and post a few times a week, you should think about using them once in a while. It’ll lighten your work load and make the blogging process less stressful for you. I work five days a week so I know what it’s like to try and fit everything into those few days off.

I also think it’s important to mention that I would never use these images and then claim them to be my own work. All credit goes entirely to the original creators and I’m incredibly grateful they offer these resources publicly.

One thought on “10 of the Best Sites for Free Stock Photos

  1. […] Keep it legal | When you’re using a custom made font or a photograph, always check that it’s free for use by the public. Copyright laws can land you in a lot of hot water, especially with photographs that are used without permission. I’ve done a post all about where you can find the best free stock images which you can read here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

