Blogger Recognition Award

A couple of days ago I was nominated by the fantastic Pippa from Pippa Posts for the Blogger Recognition Award, which is a blog award – meets tag.

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Write a post showing the award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give 2 pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Select 15 other bloggers to pass the award to
  • Comment on each blog with a link to the post and let them know you nominated them

makeup

So when and how did Black Coffee Breakfast begin? Back in November I needed a creative outlet to voice myself, separate from social media. I wanted somewhere to be able to write and connect with women like myself, and to be able to go into detail about it. Simply put, I didn’t want to be confined to a 140 character limit (no shade though Twitter..) I have had other blogs in the past, which nothing came of, and I’ve always regretted giving up too soon into the game. In the few months I have been posting, I’ve already had the opportunity to engage with other bloggers like myself and have been in contact with some amazing brands.

makeup

Define yourself | This is the most important thing to figure out when you’re blogging, you need to let people know who you are and what you want to do. A great example is my ‘About’ page on this blog, I say what the blog is for and what it focuses on, followed by a brief introduction of who I am. Branding also falls under this – and it’s key. Take time to work on your header (as simple as it may seem, it took me a couple of tries to get mine right) explore all design options and figure out what works best aesthetically for you.

Stop Counting & Comparing | No blog is alike, so comparing yourself to a much more experienced and established blogger is just stupid. They didn’t start out with that fancy marble background and professional lighting – and neither have you. The same goes for blog stats, your day to day numbers don’t mean your blog is crap or unpopular. Higher stats will come over time, and after a lot of shameless self promotion on social media.

store

For this award/tag I am nominating the following lovely people:

Thank you for reading, I cannot wait to read the posts that are to follow and learn about the origin of some of my favourite blogs!

7 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

