AA Skincare Product Sample Reviews

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram then you’ll already know that I was recently sent some product samples from a company called Amphora Aromatics (aka AA Skincare). Over the days that followed I washed my hair with one of the sample sachets so that I could review them for you today.

 

Amphora Aromatics began back in 1984 and since have established a sizeable presence within the beauty and skincare industry, winning Silver, Gold, and Best Buy categories of The Green Parent Natural Beauty Awards in 2016.

In the package they sent me I received six different shampoos all with different purposes; lift & repair, deep cleansing, nourishing, rejuvenating, conditioning, and one for general use on all hair types.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Personally, I love natural beauty products as I feel they do a lot more for your body in comparison to a chemical based product so I was incredibly excited to test all of these out.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I began with the deep cleansing Cedarwood & Peppermint shampoo for oily hair. My hair gets oily pretty quickly so I was hoping this product would help prevent this to some extent.

The second I opened this sachet I could instantly smell the peppermint scent and it lathered up really quickly in the shower. As I have pretty damaged hair I usually can’t run my fingers through it post-shampoo, but was shocked to find that with this product my hair wasn’t as tangled together and horrible.

On the deep cleansing side of things, this definitely did it’s job; the peppermint in this product left my hair feeling fresh and superbly clean. On the back of the product sachet is claimed that the product would add volume and shine to my hair – personally I didn’t notice any added volume as my hair is quite thick and heavy so it doesn’t hold very well. That being said, I did notice an enhanced shine.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The Rose & Pomegranate shampoo is for frequent use on all hair types, unlike the first. It has a very strong rose fragrance which I wasn’t too keen on as I found it to be a little overpowering.

I was a little disappointed with this particular sample as it didn’t really lather up… at all. In fact, I actually went back in with a second shampoo sample as I felt that this one didn’t do a great job.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

When the Rose & Pomegranate shampoo turned out to be a disappointment, I went in with the Amla & Clary Sage. This is also for use on all hair types, with balancing & soothing properties.

Hand on heart, I could easily say this is my second favourite shampoo from the brand (Cedarwood & Peppermint is the first!). It has a scent which I can only describe as ‘fresh’ and it lathers up instantly. Additionally, I felt my hair was less tangled when I rinsed it off, being able to run my hands through my hair isn’t something I can usually do without conditioner, so this was a pleasant surprise.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

With this sample I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as I have no idea was Ylang Ylang is. I’ve heard of it before, but wasn’t exactly sure of what it was or why it’s in shampoos. After a quick Google search I found it was an essential oil used widely in cosmetics due to it’s pleasant fragrance as well as for medicinal purposes. Some describe it as an ‘antidepressant’ and it’s used often in aromatherapy.

With this shampoo I didn’t find an overpowering scent of rosemary, which I was very happy about as I’m not a big fan personally. The overall scent was sweet and refreshing and the sample promises to restore and revive your hair. Afterwards I found my hair to be in much better condition that it was before washing and I did find that my hair was a little less dry. In short – it does exactly what it says on the tin (or, yknow, sachet).

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Peony, Bay and Brahmi is a nourishing shampoo for all hair types. This product promises to nurture and sooth the hair, which I definitely found to be true.

Back in October I bleached my hair three times and doused it in Electric Lizard Manic Panic hair colour. Needless to say, it’s not in the best condition – especially after a lot of dark brown hair colour on top. Nourishing shampoo and conditioners have been my life savers ever since. This shampoo is something I could easily do with investing in one day!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I left this particular shampoo til last for it’s description alone – ‘lift & repair’. I recently had a professional hair treatment at work which lasts up to 25 washes, so I can’t say what this shampoo would have done to my hair previously.

This sample lathered up incredibly easily, leaving my hair feeling clean and tangle free. While I did like the way this shampoo performed, I wasn’t a huge fan of the scent so I can’t see myself wanting to try this one again.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

So how would I describe my experience with Amphora Aromatics?

AA Skincare are a brand I consider to be well deserving of the beauty awards they won in 2016. Does this mean I enjoyed every one of the samples they sent me? No. While I absolutely loved combinations such as Cedarwood & Peppermint, and Ylang Ylang, Argan & Rosemary; I particular disliked the Rose & Pomegranate shampoo.

I like that the packaging design is kept consistent, and enjoy all natural ingredient cosmetic products – Lush Cosmetics are one of my favourites. Something I’m definitely going to be investing in is the Cedarwood & Peppermint shampoo. I was hoping it would be my favourite before I even received the samples and now I can say after trying it that it didn’t disappoint!

Have you ever tried anything from Amphora Aromatics? Let me know what your thoughts were in the comments section below!

 

4 thoughts on “AA Skincare Product Sample Reviews

Leave a Reply

