My Top 3 Eyeshadow Palettes

Makeup is something which doesn’t play a massive part in my routine. Granted, I won’t leave the house without my eyebrows drawn on but I don’t spend hours everyday blending out my eyeshadow ready for work. Because of this reason, I don’t make a habit of purchasing all the beautiful new palettes that are released every month – I simply won’t use them.

That being said, I do have three eyeshadow palettes that are my holy grail items. If I buy things, I need to be sure as hell I’m going to use them [that’s not to say I’m sometimes guilty of compulsive spending, but yknow…]

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The three palettes I’ll be showing you today are the BH Cosmetics Galaxy Chic palette, and two W7 palettes called In the Nude and In the Buff.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This Galaxy Chic palette has been on the BH Cosmetics website for what seems like forever due to it’s popularity among makeup lovers. The palette consists of 18 baked shadow shades from golds and oranges to deep blues and light purples.

Every once in a while I like to experiment with vibrant colours so I bought this as a treat – plus it was on sale! It was originally priced around $20 but was put down to $14 – this was a little over a year and a half ago, I understand that it’s now $12 on the company’s website [*cough* buy it *cough*].

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

As you can see, I’ve used this palette more than just a few times, and it even has a couple of broken pans [I dropped it more than once]. I found that the shadows became way more vibrant when water was added to my application brush, so if you want more of a pigment there’s a good tip for you there!

This is just a really cool and fun palette to mess around with every now and again, at a very reasonable price.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Next up we’ve got the nudes, aka my everyday go-to eye looks. There literally isn’t a day where I haven’t used a shadow from one of these palettes.

These palettes were purchased at Clothes Show Live in the Birmingham NEC centre, where they were on sale for £10 for three palettes [I also picked up the Cheeky Trio palette but didn’t enjoy it] where these usually retail for around £5 each.

Additionally, these palettes are both dupes for the Naked palettes from Urban Decay.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The In the Buff palette definitely gets more use out of the two, as you can see the third shadow gets used more often than not as I’ve hit pan. That’s the shade I use mainly as an inner corner highlight.

This particular set of shadows is my favourite, although the darker shadows don’t suit me as much.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The second palette, In the Nude, isn’t something I use as often as I would like to but the shades in it are beautiful. I did actually lose the brush that came with this palette, but it wasn’t something I used in the first place anyway.

At one point I would solely use the left half of the palette, but I don’t usually go near the deepest purple/black shade for the same reason that it doesn’t suit me all that much.

As a person with a more natural overall makeup look, I’d usually pair these shadows with a pale pink lipstick [L’Oreal Colour Riche in the shade Moka Chic], or a bold red lip [Kylie Jenner lip kit in Mary Jo K].

Have you ever tried any of these palettes yourself? What were your thoughts and opinions on them? Let me know in the comment section below!

10 thoughts on “My Top 3 Eyeshadow Palettes

Leave a Reply

