5 Minute Face Fix

Let’s picture this; you set your alarm for 6am but keep slamming down on the snooze button every time it rings out. Before you know it, it’s 7:30 and you need to find a way to shower, sort your hair out, and not look totally dead. Admittedly, this is a scenario which rings true more than often on the average day in my life. So how is it that I manage to fix my face without driving myself completely insane on a morning?

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The key is to stick to the basics and be realistic, a softer natural look is going to be far more achievable than your Instagram worthy smokey eye with eyeliner fleeked for the gods – right? The trick is to enhance what’s already there.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Moisturiser is absolutely key to my routine as I have incredibly dry skin – especially in the colder weather. This is due to the fact I have psoriasis, which is mainly concentrated on my face and scalp.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Secondly, I’ll use a primer to ensure my base can be applied a lot more smoothly. I like the Revolution Ultra Face Base primer as it leaves a silky finish over my skin without making it feel oily.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

To achieve a natural base, I’ll apply a lightweight CC Cream from Sleek to cover any ‘problem areas’ i.e. under eye bags and red blemishes. I haven’t got any special application techniques, simply dabbing CC cream over my face and blending in with a beauty blender.

5 minute face fix bourjois aqua blush.jpg

I’ll also use a small pump of Bourjois Aqua Blush to give more of a natural fresh-faced complexion. With this product, a small pump goes a long way and gives a gentle natural glow.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

For my eyes, I’ll highlight the inner corner of my eye with the champagne coloured eyeshadow third across from the left. Then I’ll apply a gold shadow over the lid and blend it out over my crease.

I have previously talked about this palette in the post My Top 3 Eyeshadow Palettes so if you enjoyed this post, why not go over and give that one a read?

5 minute face fix soap&glory thick&fast mascara.jpg

Soap & Glory’s Thick&Fast high definition collagen coat mascara is a big favourite of mine, as we all know. I have featured this product previously in my Soap & Glory Collective post, one coating of this product is all you need which is why it’s my go-to product for a working day.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’ll finish off with one of two lip looks, I chop and change my lip products all the time but for this particular post I chose to show the NYX soft matte lip creams. More often than not I’ll choose a soft pink lip, but if I want a bolder look I’ll go with a red lip.

The best thing about this look is that it’s incredibly versatile and great for makeup beginners as it requires little to no skill whatsoever. The application process doesn’t have to be perfect at all; I’ve done this in the house, on the bus, in the car – you name it!

*Please note that I don’t drive, if I do go anywhere in the car somebody else is driving. Do not drive while doing your makeup*

If you found this helpful then let me know in the comments below and tag me in your social media selfies of your morning rush makeup looks. My username on all social media is @blkcoffeebrkfst.

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Face Fix

Leave a Reply

