Work Proof Makeup

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Long lasting makeup has been a big trend for the past year – especially with the influx of matte liquid lipsticks. 8 hour, 24 hour, and even 48 hour long lasting products have been lining the shelves of Boots and Superdrug alike. So which ones actually work?

I’ve put together a handful of products I own and use regularly that I know last a full working day. Along with each product I’ve also included some of their pros and cons (because nothing’s perfect).

NYX Lingerie Liquid Lipstick // I own a handful of NYX soft matte liquid lipsticks already and really don’t like the formula so was skeptical about trying out the Lingerie collection. As it turns out, the formula is different and I like this one a LOT better because it feels so light on the lips and doesn’t dry them out. To be honest the only disadvantage that comes to mind is the fact that it takes some time to get used to the applicator because it’s a slightly odd shape.

NYX Vinyl Liquid Liner // I spent a lot of my teenage years wearing eyeliner and I still do, although my application skills have gone through a LOT of improvement. This liner dries quickly, doesn’t smudge or transfer onto my upper eyelid (hooded eyelid problems). Again, the only issue I have is the applicator as I find the brush quite thick and it makes it difficult to get a sharp flick. What’s up with NYX and shitty applicators??

NYX Tame&Frame Brow Pomade // This is a product I only really use when I’m going on a night out or an event because it works well for an ultra-glam look. When I’m at work I opt for more of a natural finish but I did at one point use this pomade everyday. I can hand on heart say that this is the best dupe I’ve found for the ABH brow pomade – although it does dry out really quickly. The best thing to do is to mix in a small amount of coconut oil into the product to get the smooth consistency back. *Fun fact* I have once fallen asleep with this on and woken up with nice fleeky brows, so it really works.

Soap&Glory Mascara // I talk about this on social media ALL the damn time and if you didn’t know already, I love this mascara. It’s collagen infused and looks exactly the same at the end of the day as it does in the morning. My last mascara from Maybelline (no tea no shade) always got on my eyelids when I applied it which was annoying as hell – especially when I put a lot of work into my eyeshadow, but I’ve not once had that problem with this product.

Kylie Cosmetics Liquid Lipstick // Kylie Jenner’s cosmetics line has been taking the internet by storm since it very first came out. While I do love the liquid lipsticks for their longevity I find them quite dry and on their second application they feel horrible on your lips (I prefer to take the product off completely and then re-apply). I’ve spoken to a couple of the girls in work who have these and they’ve said the same things so it must be down to the formula.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 Makeup brushes // NYX liquid lipstick // NYX vinyl liner // NYX brow pomade // Soap&Glory mascara 

*I would have included a link to the cosmetics bag but it was a gift and there’s no tags on it – sorry!*

4 thoughts on “Work Proof Makeup

  1. Great post – finding products that last through a work day are so difficult! I’ve just come to terms with the fact that I have to touch it up at lunch time haha.

    Might try the NYX pomade, as I’m currently using one by Benefit – thanks for the coconut oil tip btw – mine is starting to get a little dry!

    Em x
    http://www.emwrites.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree! I’m always on the hunt for something that lasts longer than what I’m already using. The NYX pomade is so good and a really cheap alternative to more expensive products – I’m a sucker for a good dupe haha!! Glad to have enlightened you on the coconut oil tip haha – saves me so much money!
      El x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

