#Trending : Garnier Skincare

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

If you didn’t already know, I’m kind of a skincare junkie. Face gels, foams, toners, serums oils and creams – you name it, I’ve probably tried it. For me, a good face of makeup begins with a flawless base and I notice every single irregularity that shows up uninvited to my face. Trust me, I know when a pimple pops up!

There’s been a lot of buzz recently about Garnier’s new line of skincare products, with a lot of bloggers now swearing by a few of them. Now, whenever things like this crop up I generally flock to the high street because I’m a bit of a sheep (guilty) and if there’s something out there promising me my perfect complexion – you can bet I want it in my bathroom cabinet ASAP.

So two items I picked up were the Garnier Moisture Bomb sheet mask and the Skinactive micellar cleansing water.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Moisture Bomb Sheet Mask | I’ve actually used this mask once before but gave it another try because it was quite a while ago and I can’t really recall my first experience all that well. Both times I’ve tried this mask, I chucked it straight onto my face and totally forgot about the blue backing it has on it. So if you try this for the first time, remember to peel it off.

I will say that this mask is DRIPPING in serum, or whatever the hell it is – but it’s soaking wet. This seems like a positive sign that it’s going to be moisturising, or I thought so anyway. The packet says to leave the mask on for 15 minutes for the best results and then to either rub in the remaining serum once you remove the mask or remove the excess with a cotton pad.

As I have quite dry skin, I opted for rubbing in the remaining serum to get as much moisture into my skin as possible. Now, I don’t know what the hell happened but the serum dried down really fast and it left my face feeling really sticky and tight. I’m talking uncomfortably tight – as if I’d washed my face with soap and water. Usually this isn’t a feeling I experience with any sheet mask, so I’m not sure why it happened with this one.  Overall, I can’t say that this is a mask I’ll want to try for a third time. I do try and give things a go a couple of times before deciding I just don’t like them and sadly this is one of those occasions.

If you want to give this mask a try for yourself then it’s only going to set you back 99p, so I can’t say that I’m too heartbroken about the fact this didn’t work out for me.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Skinactive micellar water | This is something I’ve been noticing ALL over my Instagram feed lately. Everyone and their nana is or has tried this out and now loves everything about it, so of course I had to give it a go. They have SO MANY different size bottles of this stuff available, which is handy (especially when travelling/trying it out for the first time) and I opted to buy the ‘on the go’ bottle which retails for £1.33 in Boots.

So the idea for this is to remove your makeup using a saturated cotton pad without rinsing and BAM – clean face. I’ve used this for about a week now and I can say it does the best job of removing my makeup incredibly well – which can be a tricky job given my daily look of eyeliner and mascara. This is one of the only cleansing waters I’ve tried that doesn’t just smear my eyeliner all over my face, giving it a grey sheen all over my face.

My experience with this product IS, for the most part, a positive one. However… It leaves my face feeling tight and sticky – is it just me? Is it the Garnier skincare range? Who the hell knows – it’s disappointing nonetheless. The cleansing water doesn’t leave me as uncomfortable as the mask did, so I don’t have any issues with using up the remainder of the bottle for now – but I can’t say that I have any plans to repurchase either of these products anytime soon.

If you’ve tried these products before and have had a similar experience then let me know in the comments below so I know it’s not just me going crazy!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Moisture Bomb mask // Micellar cleansing water

 

 

6 thoughts on “#Trending : Garnier Skincare

  1. I used to always use the Garnier Micellar Water! I’ve had multiple bottles I don’t recall my face feeling tight or anything in fact it was quite not wet? But you know what I mean. But I switched over to the Garnier Make-Up Remover which is like blue and clear and you shake it? Sorry can’t remember the name! I’m not sure why i swapped but I do really like this new one! X
    Lydia x
    itsheredition.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. This was really interesting to read! I have really dry skin and even when things are supposed to cater to it, like the ‘moisture bomb’ I feel like it just doesn’t (I tried it recently with basically the same results). Nothing ever seems to help! Any recommendations?! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

