DIY Coffee Body Scrub

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

If you read one of my previous posts about my holy grail face mask, you’ll know I’m a pretty big fan of coffee infused skincare. {If you didn’t read it, you can find it here}. This is not only due to my ever-growing coffee addiction, but also due to the great benefits coffee can have for the skin. For example, it can help with redness, anti-inflammation and it also makes a great exfoliant.

While I absolutely adore my Cup o’ Coffee Lush Cosmetics mask and wouldn’t trade it for the world, I don’t like to use it as a body exfoliant. This is mainly due to how often I tend to repurchase it {every couple of months} and also the cost of one tub {no tea, no shade, no pink lemonade, Lush. I love you but you’re pricey as HELL}.

I’m always looking for ways to cut spending on beauty and skincare products {life as an apprentice can be tough} so one day I decided to look into making my own exfoliators and found a recipe for a coffee body scrub. After looking through several different recipes and seeing what does/doesn’t work for other people, I decided to put my own together!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The actual recipe is incredibly easy and there’s no real technique behind it at all – I’m a big fan of throwing everything in one bowl and seeing what happens!

You’ll need:

  • Instant coffee granules {the chunkier the better – a finely milled coffee won’t do much good in the exfoliating department}
  • Sugar {for extra exfoliating goodness}
  • Coconut oil
  • Vanilla extract {optional but gives a nice scent}

I combined 1 heaped tablespoon of coconut oil with 1 tablespoon sugar and some vanilla extract {add as much vanilla as you want depending on how strong of a scent you want}. Lastly, I added 2 heaped tablespoons of coffee granules and mixed it all together until it formed a paste.

This turned out 100x better than I imagined it would – a gorgeously scented body scrub for under £10! This recipe is for a small bowl of one-use scrub, but obviously you can double the mixture if this is something you want to keep in a jar to use over time. I’m not too sure about how well this keeps over the space of a few weeks but I imagine the oil would begin to separate and go a weird consistency so definitely have a play round with it and find what works best for you.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

There’s something really great about making your own skincare/bath products. One of my dreams is to formulate my own natural skincare line, so this was right up my alley!

So what can coffee really do for the skin?

  • Exfoliate dead skin cells
  • Soften skin
  • Reduce cellulite
  • Treat dark circle/puffy eyes
  • Anti-oxidation
  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Skin tightening
  • Skin brightening

I found this fantastic list of benefits from the New Health Advisor website – the original article can be found here.

Let me know if you end up making this body scrub yourself at home – it works like a dream! Have you ever been tempted to make your own bath/beauty products?

 

6 thoughts on “DIY Coffee Body Scrub

  1. Nice Scrub, I am using Coffee face pack from years but never tried the home made coffee scrub, will try this very soon. Between can you guide me on one thing, In last few months I found green coffee beans craze is increasing much and many people say they are better than brown beans. Is that so? Did you try that? I tried once but found, it’s very hard to grind green beans, I tried few different grinders. Is there any tricky way to do that….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t personally tried green coffee beans but after doing some research I think the craze is due to it’s claims of boosting your metabolism and helping you to lose weight. In terms of grinding the beans, I don’t have a clue (sorry!) I personally use instant coffee grains 24/7. Hope this helped a little bit!
      El x

      Like

Leave a Reply

