On the Fence – NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Around this time last year I purchased four of the soft matte lip creams from NYX Cosmetics. This was around the time that liquid lipsticks were the THING to have – specifically matte lip shades. There were and still are so many options for matte liquid lipsticks that it’s difficult to know where to begin. I chose NYX because they were an affordable drugstore brand who I’d heard were very good quality {which is true}.

A lot of my initial love for the lip creams came from the shade range that is available {it’s absolutely INSANE – check it out here on the Boots website} and also the fact that I’d heard from bloggers/vloggers that they were pretty long wearing.

The reason I’m writing this post about them is because I’m STILL on the fence about them – a whole year later! I just really don’t know if I absolutely do or absolutely don’t like them, so I’m going to run through a few of the pro’s and cons.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The shades I opted for were Monte Carlo, Amsterdam, Milan, and Abu Dhabi. As you can see from my swatches above all of the colours are pretty much true to the colour of the tubes and they have a nice doe-foot applicator.

Pros:

  • Buildable colour
  • Easy to apply
  • Amazing shade range
  • Not drying

Cons:

  • Feels heavy when you re-apply during the day
  • Doesn’t completely dry down

By default, the lists would show that I DO like these products. However, there’s something about the formula of these lip creams that I don’t really enjoy all that much, and I can’t put my finger on it! Initially I thought it was the softness of the formula – but I absolutely adore their Lingerie lipstick range which is equally as soft on the lips so it can’t be that.

Have you ever tried the soft matte lip creams? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments below – are you as on the fence as I am about them?

Leave a Reply

