The New Way to Wash Your Hair? Joico Co&Wash Review

Joico have made a name for themselves as the most reconstructive brand on the market for the past sixteen years. Every single product is constructed using the Bio Advanced Peptides Complex, repairing damaged locks with 19 amino acids from real human hair keratin.  

There was a time in my life where I was buying 99p shampoos from the supermarket, thinking my hair was the healthiest it could ever be. Since training with the Joico team, my eyes have been opened to the art of investing in your haircare. 


While I didn’t doubt Joico as a brand, I did doubt the claims of this so-called miracle product. How can a shampoo AND conditioner be packed into foam formula? I didn’t know how they did it, but I knew I had to try it out and see the benefits for myself. 

“I WAS BUYING 99p SHAMPOOS FROM THE SUPERMARKET… MY EYES HAVE BEEN OPENED TO THE ART OF INVESTING IN YOUR HAIRCARE”

Part of me was convinced it was a gimmick, similar to when strobing kits became must-have makeup items. Having seen the benefits of their other products, like the K Pak reconstructing range, I went into this with an open mind. 


Upon dispensing into my palm, the foam slowly began to double in size. On their website, Joico state that you only need 50% of the product you use in comparison with any regular shampoo and conditioner – this is definitely something that rings true. The foam then spreads out when emulsified, without dissolving like other foam textured products. I did find this a little difficult to evenly dispense over the entireity of my hair, but this is something that comes with practice. It’s harder at first due to the cleansing conditioners unique texture. 

If you’re a globetrotter who lives out of their suitcase, then the Co&Wash is definitely the product for you. The matte aerosol can fits neatly into any suitcase, giving you extra clothes space without having to sacrifice your haircare routine! 


There are three different cleansing conditioners in the Co&Wash range; Moisture (for dry hair), Curl (for curly hair) and Colour (for coloured hair). Each one can be used in conjunction with their other products, e.g. the moisture co&wash can be used in rotation with the Moisture Recovery range for best results. 

“YOU ONLY NEED 50% OF THE PRODUCT YOU USE IN COMPARISON WITH ANY REGULAR SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER”

While I do love a bargain, I don’t like to scrimp and save when it comes to my haircare anymore. Highstreet brand products can often contain alcohol and silicone. Alcohol sucks the moisture out of your hair and dries it out – which could be why your hair feels really dry after washing. Silicone coats the hair strands in plastic, which make your hair look and feel nice but cause an excess of buildup. 

FINAL THOUGHTS

Joico Co&Wash is the holy grail of travel haircare, without a doubt. I can’t see myself using this full time as I prefer a more traditional approach to hair washing using individual shampoo and conditioner products. The Co&Wash is something you have to try for yourself to really see and feel the benefits, but overall it’s a fantastic concept and a brilliant product. 

Have you ever tried cowashing? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

*I’m not affiliated in any way with the Joico brand and was not sent this product. I purchased this product with my own money out of genuine curiosity as to how it would work and all opinions stated are my own*

Leave a Reply

